Past Conventions

Each year since 1981, members of the Short Wing Piper Club have gathered together for the Short Wing Piper Club’s annual Convention. The very first convention was more of a gathering of members during another convention, the annual EAA Fly-in at Oshkosh. The SWPC met at Oshkosh again in 1982 but in 1983 the Club held it’s first true annual convention in Minden, Nebraska.

The convention location changes each year offering members a great opportunity to fly their Short Wing Pipers all around the lower 48 – and even into Alaska and Canada – to meet up with other members of their Short Wing Family.

Conventions typically start on a Monday evening with a kick-off Meet and Greet and end on Thursday evening with a banquet with awards given for the best Short Wings. Activities during the convention typically include forums on flying and technical information and sightseeing trips around the local area as well as lots of time spent at the airport looking at our wonderful Short Wing Pipers.

Click HERE to see pictures of the SWPC Convention patches from 1983 to the present.

For details on a particular convention click on a convention year in the chart below. At present, only the most recent convention years have detailed information. Check back soon for updates!

Year Location Airport
2020 Convention Canceled because of Covid
2019 Wichita, KS Colonel James Jabara Airport
2018 Grayling, MI Grayling Army Airfield
2017 Lancaster, PA Smoketown Airport
2016 Fredericksburg, TX Gillespie County Airport
2015 Branson, MO M. Graham Clark Downtown (PLK)
2014 Santa Maria, CA Santa Maria Public Airport (SMX)
2013 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga County Airport
2012 Ogden, Utah Ogden-Hinkley Airport
2011 Spearfish, South Dakota Black Hills Airport - Clyde Ice Field
2010 Middletown, Ohio Middletown Regional/Hook Field
2009 Knoxville, Tennessee Knoxville Downtown Island Airport
2008 Cable, Wisconsin Cable Union Airport
2007 Hutchinson, Kansas Hutchinson
2006 Kingston, Ontario, Canada Kingston Airport/Norman Rogers Airport
2005 Vancouver, Washington Pearson Field Airport
2004 Sault Ste. Maria, Michigan Sanderson Field Airport
2003 Springfield, Missouri Downtown Airport
2002 Odessa, Texas Odessa-Schlemeyer Field Airport
2001 Anchorage, Alaska Merrill Field Airport
2000 Lakeland, Florida Lakeland Linder Regional Airport
1999 Denver, Colorado Centennial Airport
1998 Middletown, Ohio Middletown Regional/Hook Field
1997 Lancaster, Pennslyvania Lancaster Airport
1996 Lake Texoma, Oklahoma Lake Texoma State Park Airport
1995 LaCrosse, Wisconsin LaCrosse Municipal Airport
1994 Wenatchee, Washington Pangborn Memorial Airport
1993 Ellenville, New York Joseph Y. Resnick Airport
1992 Prescott, Arizona Ernest A. Love Field
1991 Brunswick, Georgia Brunswick Golden Isles Airport
1990 Wagoner, Oklahoma Hefner-Easley Airport
1989 Wagoner, Oklahoma Hefner-Easley Airport
1988 Traverse City, Michigan Cherry Capital Airport
1987 Swan Lake, New York Sullivan County International
1986 Waco, Texas Waco Regional Airport
1985 River Ranch, Florida River Ranch Resort Airport
1984 Minden, Nebraska Pioneer Village Field Airport
1983 Minden, Nebraska Pioneer Village Field Airport
1982 Oshkosh, Wisconsin Wittman Regional Airport
1981 Oshkosh, Wisconsin Wittman Regional Airport